RSS

Creative (S)training

11 Jan

Over the last couple of days, i have been watching Textileartist.org‘s “Creative Stamina” series, a collaboration in video with the esteemed Jane Dunnewold.

Finding time is the biggest obstacle most say. I DO have the time though–it’s forcing myself into the stoodio, forcing myself to get to work. I stand at the worktable lost (sometimes in ideas, most often underwhelmed) and can’t focus on anything. Is it the mess? Is it my too busy brain? Is it the mess *in* my brain? I have the techniques and tools i need, so it’s not that blocking me, i don’t wish for more materials or “skills”. I don’t listen to anyone else’s criticism about my work, or personal habits, so it’s not that either. (In fact, i have no one to do, who does do that. Lone blogger, lone artist, despite being in several textile oriented groups…..NOT a bad thing.)

Am i losing my passion, my commitment? Rarely do i have OMG moments anymore, for my own current WIPs or for work posted by others elsewhere. I love pretty much everything i have done, just not what i am doing….

More often these days, i feel i am pissing into the wind, as they say. Other times i felt like this, it was PAINFUL. This instance however, i bore myself–what the hell is going on? I acknowledge that after every big project is completed, that i am lost, anxious, sad even, but this? Is there a point to going on? Is there a going on?????? I don’t mean any of this as a pity party either: it could be a stoppage has occurred for a reason, a reason that will have me chortling when i figure it out. I have goals, deadlines, intent, but no purpose.

I’M NOT WHINING. I’m not even ranting as i used to do. I am truly puzzled. It’s like climbing a ladder and suddenly there are four steps missing before i can reach the 5th one up. My legs aren’t that long, and i ain’t that agile anymore.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2016 in journal: lessons to learn

 

3 responses to “Creative (S)training

  1. Karen

    January 11, 2016 at 8:31 am

    I absolutely get this. Hope it passes and you have a renewed interest in the work. Sometimes I have that oh what the eff for feeling about the art I am doing, in point of fact that is where I find myself right now. Eh, maybe it’s one of those astrological planetary things? I don’t know, overwhelmed, underwhelmed?

    Like

     
  2. Diane Duncan

    January 11, 2016 at 9:42 am

    It is strange but you have describe my current state to a Tee! I have the aspirations, the deadlines, the skills, a direction but not the excitement. What is going on? Have been repeatedly asking myself ‘Why?’

    Like

     
  3. Mo Crow

    January 12, 2016 at 10:12 am

    “Draw Antonio draw and don’t waste time” as Michelangelo advised his young assistant all those years ago, drawing always helps in understanding what’s happening in the world both inside & out

    Like

     

Your thoughts?

 
