RSS

small pleasures

15 Mar

I’ve started small pieces for the Leighton Art Centre’s Gallery shop as i think about the changes needed in the exhibit piece.

3rd moon embroidery C

These are manageable in terms of time–a full day of concentration to execute. Seven inches square when they are mounted on their canvases, i have lots of ideas due to the size and time frame.

And what a lovely little surprise this was:

ABOS in X3 article Alberta Craft Council 2016I picked up a copy of the Alberta Craft Council’sĀ  “Alberta Craft” magazine and was pleased to see a detail of “A Birth of Silence” used in the article about the X3 Exhibit.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve noticed that since i moved here from the old space, my stats are WAY WAY WAY down, abysmally so………….. This is disheartening in one respect, but then, i mostly talk to myself anyways, so wth, i’m just going to keep going. FaceBook i think has taken over for most people, though i still love a good blog.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2016 in embrilting, Leighton work, Shows/Publications

 

12 responses to “small pleasures

  1. Claudette hart

    March 15, 2016 at 8:31 am

    Love your blog!!! Love your work!!!

    Like

     
    • arlee

      March 15, 2016 at 9:11 am

      Thanks Claudette: much appreciated šŸ™‚

      Like

       
  2. Mo Crow

    March 15, 2016 at 10:03 am

    beautiful colours in the variation

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. snicklefritzin43

    March 15, 2016 at 10:50 am

    I read your blog nearly every day and do not spend so much time with Facebook anymore. Glad you will keep on going with the blog.
    Kristin

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • arlee

      March 15, 2016 at 10:52 am

      i vacillate between needing both, but in the end the longer study goes here!

      Like

       
  4. late start studio

    March 15, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    I’m another who reads blogs Arlee, FB is okay but I’d rather subscribe to a blog. In a blog I get to hear more about the process so please don’t stop. And then there’s the question about who the blog is for, do you get more benefit out of writing here or on FB? I don’t blog often but when I do it helps me work things out, helps me process my thinking and as a bonus it shows others that they’re not the only ones with the same struggles in heir work.

    Like

     
    • arlee

      March 15, 2016 at 6:53 pm

      i get to be more me here–most i censor for FB or just don’t share—-reactions are not as personal there, despite all the (often overly) personal stuff shared on it……… i think blogging too is a better “record” of things (words and photos)–try searching even in your own feed on FB for something and never finding it !

      Like

       
  5. Mary Anne

    March 15, 2016 at 5:26 pm

    I’m here Arlee – just not commenting much. You know how much I love your work, but also know how you don’t like ‘blah-diddy, blah-diddy’ comments. So, consider yourself blad-diddied for the foreseeable future, and keep on blogging on!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • arlee

      March 15, 2016 at 6:53 pm

      hugs to my long lost SIS ;)–i’m a lousy commenter too!

      Like

       
  6. margarethd

    March 16, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    I still like folowing blogs and read yours regularly continuing to enjoy your work.

    Like

     
    • arlee

      March 16, 2016 at 6:40 pm

      Thanks Margaret, muchly appreciated šŸ™‚

      Like

       
  7. Barbara M

    March 20, 2016 at 1:26 am

    Just because I don’t leave many comments does not mean I don’t ‘visit’ often! You are such a a spontaneous blogger, it’ s always a pleasure to follow your trials and triumphs here!
    Barbara X

    Liked by 1 person

     

Your thoughts?

 
